top of page

Letters from the Organizers of INX 2019


Following the announcement of Internexus' indefinite hiatus, the co-hosts of Internexus released 2 separate letters regarding Internexus. Both letters are published here in their entirety. To see the official announcement and explanation for the hiatus, please click here.

 

Letter from the WHS Head of INX:

I’ve known about Internexus since 2015, when I was only a small 8th grader. I stepped through the doors of the rotunda in American High School in my Sailor Moon jacket and I was amazed at how a group of high schoolers were able to host an event that different artists, vendors, and attendees could come together. They even had a maid cafe! As someone who was entering 9th grade the following year, I knew I wanted to be involved in Washington High School’s Japanime Club and help with Internexus.

And I did. I volunteered for Internexus 2016, became the vice president the following year, and was in charge of Admissions and helping organize Internexus with both Washington and American’s Japanime Club officers for 2017 and 2018. Through Internexus, I’ve met so many friends and made so many happy memories hosting. When I see people come to the con to sell their amazing artworks and dressed in cosplay outfits, it fills me with happiness. I felt that I was bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

It’s now 2019 and the red sash saying “INX HOST” that has been passed down from president to president has now been passed down to me. It’s been pinned on my bulletin board since the beginning of summer break last year and when ever I glance at it, it fills me with determination to make 2019 the best year. There were so many ideas that I wanted to initiate in this year’s con: longer con hours, cheaper admission. I was so excited to bring Internexus 2019 to the public when April rolls around.

However, all this will not happen this year. It saddens me to announce that Internexus will be put on an indefinite hiatus due to Fremont teacher’s Work to Rule. This con has been the fruit of many extra hours of labor and collaboration by the officers of both clubs for many, many years. My heart breaks to not be able to host this year, especially since this will also be the year when Tony and I graduate. We both have been part of the main team organizing Internexus since 2017.

Thank you Tony for being part of this fun and stressful journey with me. The many days of organizing documents, sending emails, and teaching volunteers were long and sometimes burns both of us out but there was always a sense of accomplishment when we open the doors of the con to the attendees.

Thank you to the alumni and volunteers who came and supported the con with set up, management, and for founding Internexus. Thanks for all the hard work you put into it and helping make every year a precious memory.

And thank you to the attendees who’ve come and attended Internexus throughout the years, from old veterans to first comers. Thank you to the panelists and artists who make this con so eventful and fun. Without you guys Internexus wouldn’t have been so successful and so exciting.

I hope one day we will all meet again and enjoy Internexus together.

Thank you. :)

Sincerely,

Gini Lo

President of WHS Japanime Club (2018-2019)

Co-Host of Internexus 2019

 

Letter from the AHS Head of INX:

Today, Gini and I are announcing that Internexus is on indefinite hiatus. It’s been five years since Internexus began, and both of us have had many fond memories of the convention. If we could, we would continue the event for another year in a heartbeat. And although that isn’t possible due to the current situation with club advisors, I’m still very grateful for all that this convention has brought.

It’s been an honor to be on the Internexus team for the last 3 years. Together, we’ve pushed through challenges and helped make Internexus a better convention. In 2017, we began partnering with Ohlone College’s Renegade Esports to bring a better gaming hall experience and introduce the Super Smash Bros Tournament. In 2018, we revamped our registration process, while also bringing in the most Guests of Honor since 2015. And in 2019, we had plans to bring in even more guests, lower the ticket prices, organize more advertising, and create more professional signage at the convention.

But most of all, the most important thing throughout these 3 years was that we brought people together. Whether they were hardcore anime fans or just coming because their friends were coming, they came here, had fun, and met new people.

Looking back, I want to sincerely thank each and every attendee, panelist, guest, donor, and sponsor that has supported Internexus all these years. Without you, all of this would not have been possible. Without you, Internexus would not have continued for so long.

Next, I want to thank each and every volunteer for helping us set up this convention. Without you, we wouldn’t have been able to make all the signs we needed for the convention. We wouldn’t have had enough people to set up the artist alley each year. We wouldn’t have enough people to help the artists and vendors out, or sell tickets at the door. So again, thank you.

I also want to thank every single Internexus officer/team member, past and present, for all of your contributions. In the years that I’ve been on the team, I remember the numerous times we had to work late into the night preparing emails, flyers, schedules, and more (especially the day before the convention!). All of us have worked hard to make each year’s Internexus a success, and I’m grateful for that. The cooperation and teamwork that was needed to pull this off year after year was awe-inspiring, and has made me feel privileged to work with you guys.

Finally, I want to thank Gini for working with me during these hard times. Since the beginning of the year, we’ve been working together and supporting each other as the presidents of our respective anime clubs. We’ve also been organizing and planning for Internexus 2019 for months. When we were caught off-guard by the Work to Rule announcement by Fremont teachers, we worked together to figure out what that would mean for Internexus, and what we planned to do going forward. So again, thank you so much.

Internexus will not be happening in 2019. Will it happen again in the future? Hopefully. For now, all I can say for certain that a chapter of Internexus has ended. Gini and I are the last of the officers from 2017, and we’ll be graduating at the end of this year. Next year’s officers will be fresh faces. I wish the best of luck on next year’s Japanime Club officers from WHS and AHS, and I look forward to seeing the next chapter of the Internexus journey :)

Tony Ma

President of AHS Japanime Club (2018-2019)

Co-Host of Internexus 2019

bottom of page